Dry Pack Canning

For discussion related to emergency preparedness, survival, self-sufficiency, food and water storage, guns, heat, light, building, gardening, etc.
paulrobots
captain of 100

Dry Pack Canning

Post by paulrobots »

Hi, I know there must be a lot of experienced canners on the forum. I am a novice and I want to ask if I'm doing this correctly. I don't have a vaccuum sealer so I'm doing this in the oven.

I found a great deal on name brand cereal so I bought 30 boxes. I put them in new, cleaned, rinsed, and dried 1/2 gallon, mason jars. It worked out to be a box per jar, almost perfectly.

I put them (in batches) in the oven at 200* for 1 hour, pulled them out, put the rings and seals on finger tight, and put them back in for another 1/2 hour. I then took them out, tightened the lids, and let them cool. Most of them sealed but a few did not.

What can I do to get them to seal on the first try?

scottja
captain of 100

Re: Dry Pack Canning

Post by scottja »

These instructions are for dry packing, dry product in glass jars.
Pack the Jars with dry product, Put the lids and rings on loosely, then put in the warm oven, the heat will expand the air inside the jars and the jars will burp a little air out.
then after the time, remove the hot jars and tighten the rings,.
When they cool the air inside the jars will shrink pulling a vaccume.
Prepared cereals wont last as long as whole grains.
Expect about 1 year for the cereal.

Wet products, need a completely different process, either water bath, or pressure canning.
Get the "Ball Book of Home Storage" - it has the best instructions.

paulrobots
captain of 100

Post by paulrobots »

scottja wrote:These instructions are for dry packing, dry product in glass jars.
Pack the Jars with dry product, Put the lids and rings on loosely, then put in the warm oven, the heat will expand the air inside the jars and the jars will burp a little air out.
then after the time, remove the hot jars and tighten the rings,.