Gleaning? I do and save a lot.

Do you have something to sell/giveaway? A Business you want to let us know about? Found any good deals? Post them here.
gooseguy11
captain of 100

Gleaning? I do and save a lot.

Post by gooseguy11 »

I am sure many already think of this, so I am just going to put this out there.

In my community there is a gleaning "club" at the local senior center. Local farmers often have a contract for so many ton of a certain crop. Once they reach the quota, if the market is soft they will cull the remaining crop. Before they do they will give the senior center a call and say come get all you want. They in turn give us a call and say come get all you want. This is my first year and so I have high hopes. So far this year we have received calls for carrots.

So that is the "Club" way of doing things. Another way is to just get to know the farmers yourself. Often times they don't mind you coming out to glean after harvest. Here is a few examples:

Apples (I do live in Washington): they are labor intensive to harvest so some years they just leave them on the trees because labor is too expensive. Even if they do harvest them all, there are pollinator trees they do not harvest, so harvest these. Then there is always the windfall fruit or any fruit that falls on the ground cannot be put in the boxes to market.

Fruits: often many people have fruit trees in their yards and never harvest anything, maybe a bucket or two but never really touch the bulk of the yield. Approach the homeowner and ask for permission to harvest, and get all you can. Then go home can it and make sure you bring back some of your bounty to the donor. They will be more inclined to let you come back next year, if you give them some jam or a pie.