POKER & THE ART OF WAR: To My Beloved, Fellow Patriots

For discussion of liberty, freedom, government and politics.
dconrad000
Captain of 1000

Post by dconrad000 »

12-9-09

I’m new to the LDSfreedomforum, and having read some of the discussion threads of certain topics, I have noticed that there are those, it would appear – that are somewhat troubled of mind and of spirit – by certain happenings in our recent past.

I’ve had some thoughts that I think will bring good cheer – and lift the spirits, of all – and in particular, those who may be a bit downcast…and so I share them with you now – my beloved, fellow patriots.

When I was a kid, I used to enjoy playing the occasional game of poker…not for real money, mind you…just matchsticks, or something of that nature…to take the place of real loot. I found that the best satisfaction came from winning the pot, with absolutely nothing in my hand.

In Sun Tzu’s book, The Art of War; one of the most formidable weapons of war is described – and that is the skillful application of the art…of deception.

…in Book of Mormon speak…to employ a “stratagem”…i.e., since our only purpose was to defend our lives, our homes, our lands, our wives, our children, our liberty…and our religion…against an utterly vicious, cruel and evil enemy…we thought it not improper, to employ a “stratagem” (I am paraphrasing).

…and thus, the stripling warriors (among others), on more than one occasion, against insurmountable odds; “won the pot – with absolutely nothing in their hand”.