Chastity

For discussion of liberty, freedom, government and politics.
Sbell13
Hi, I'm new.

Chastity

Post by Sbell13 »

I am a recently engaged student attending BYU Idaho. My fiancé and I, before we reached engagement, had some severe sexual relations that came close to completely having intercourse, but stopped before reaching that point. These occurred several months ago and we have since then stopped to take steps towards repentance. We have no sexual or explicit physical contact anymore. We since got engaged and know we want a temple marriage, but we still need to talk to our bishops (we are in separate wards). He (my fiancé) is an endowed malchezidek priesthood holder, but I am not endowed at all. What are the potential consequences if we have been working sincerely towards temple marriage after our mistakes? What are the chances of disfellowship or even excommunication? How long might they be for?

Joel
Level 34 Illuminated

Re: Chastity

Post by Joel »

Different leaders do different things, the chances of disfellowship or excommunication vary from leader to leader. Think of it like playing roulette when it comes to different consequences. The time frames can vary too...excommunication usually takes longer than disfellowship, again it can depend on the leader you have.

Your schooling plans could be impacted. Have a backup plan in place and ready to go if you need to continue school somewhere else. Your church leaders judgments can impact your ability to continue attending a church owned school.

Obrien
Up, up and away.

Post by Obrien »

Great advice, Joel, especially about future schooling plans. Those damned ecclesiastical endorsements...

By the way, what are "severe sexual relations"? That seems like quite an odd term to me.

jsk
captain of 100

Post by jsk »